This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email
Recognition Awards Program- 2017 - Columbus State University

{{ rssData.title }}

{{ rssData.description }}

Student Affairs

Recognition Awards Program- 2017

New Professional Award - Keri Davis, Student Life & Development

The New Professional Award is presented to the most driven and productive new employee hired within the last two years. Showing expertise in their field, exceptional customer service and team mentality, this recipient will receive a 1 year membership to Young Professionals.


Customer Service Award

Lee Bryant, University Police Department;

Danielle Vann, Center for Career Development

The Customer Service Award is presented to two individuals that exhibit the most customer and student-friendly personality. These individuals exhibit excellent customer service in responding to students, parents, and peers in a timely and courteous manner; solving customer service problems/concerns quickly and innovatively; developing new ways to benefit students and parents while promoting the mission of the Division of Student Affairs.


Compact Award - SGT. Michael Stewart - University Police Department

The Campus Compact Award is given to an individual who demonstrates interdepartmental and campus support. This individual communicates and collaborates within their department, Student Affairs, the CSU campus, and local community. The recipient of this award will receive the rotating Campus Compact Award and present the trophy to next year's recipient.


Cougar Genius Award

The Cougar Genius Award is given to three departments with who have implemented programs within the academic year that demonstrate student participation and components that assist within retention or graduation. This plaque will be displayed in the Vice President of Student Affairs office each year. This year, we are able to recognize three programs ranked by Gold, Silver, and Bronze levels.

Gold - Office of Diversity Programs and Services - Campus Inclusion Survey

Silver - Center for Career Development - CSU Externship Program

Bronze - Office of the Dean of Students - Office of Violence against Women Campus Program Grant




Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award - Marie Grandison, Office of Center for Accommodation and Access

Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award is presented to a professional staff member who has exceeded the expectations of what is in his or her job description. This recipient has served CSU for at least 3 years, excels in job performance and significantly contributes to CSU's mission. The recipient will also receive sponsored attendance to the Jim Blanchard Leadership Forum.


Peer to Peer Recognition

The Peer to Peer Recognition award will be presented to team members in the division who have made an impact on another team members professional life. An individual can nominate another staff member that they feel is the most deserving of recognition for the year.

Keri Davis recognized Joanne Newman


Lyn Riggsby-Gonzalez recognized Joy Norman


Anne Brown recognized Danielle Vann


Johniqua Williams recognized Lashica Thomas and Melissa Dempsey


Cougar Commitment Award

The CSU Commitment Award recognizes any staff member within Student Affairs that has served CSU for a minimum of 10 years.

CSU Commitment Award

The CSU Commitment Award recognizes any staff member within Student Affairs that has served CSU for a minimum of 5, 10, or 20 years.

Recognized for 5 years of Service


Anne Brown Audrey "Rosie" Kinsman Billy Jones
Bree Legere Asmita Piya Johniqua Williams
Amy Shirley Lashica Thomas Benjamin Scott
Rebecca Tew Robert Lindsey Ray Hatter
Christina Hester Jon Erickson Anthony Chavana
Matthew Killingsworth Phillip Hudson John Teasley
Kyle Baboi Laquita Smith Johnathan Spivey
Patricia Townsend Adam Gillete Michael Stewart
Aaron "Chip" Reese Theresa Wiley  

Recognized for 10 Years of Service


  • Katie Rossello, Counseling Center
  • Mary "Libby" Smith, Student Affairs

Recognized for 20 Years of Service


  • Michael Speight, Campus Recreation
  • Linda Reynolds, Student Health Center (not pictured)

New Professional Institute Award - Chloe Gattshall, Residence Life

NPI is the preeminent professional development opportunity for new student affairs professionals in the south. NPI is an intensive, interactive week of learning, sharing, networking and professional and personal development. This unique opportunity allows new professionals to draw on their first years of experience to improve their effectiveness and to learn from others. It is a time of professional and personal renewal and assists new professionals in the development of their careers.


Mid-Manager Institute Award - Melissa Dempsey, Student Life & Development

MMI is a unique professional development experience presented by a partnership between SACSA and NASPA Region III. It offers an opportunity for mid-level professionals to enhance and develop the skills, relationships, and dispositions that distinguish them in the profession and enable them to make more meaningful contributions to the people and programs they serve.


Most Outstanding Student Leader - Cylina Velazquez, Student Life & Development; Sylvester Long, Student Life & Development

The most outstanding Student Leader Award is presented to two student leaders who have been nominated by a staff member at CSU. These students have a GPA above 2.5 and have worked within a department for at least one semester. These nominees possess traits including leadership and interpersonal skills, campus involvement and commitment to their position. The recipients of the Most Outstanding Student Leader Award will receive the opportunity to shadow an Administrator of their choice.


Congratulations to Mark Lott, CSU Chief of Police


Thank you to the Committee:

  • Melissa Dempsey
  • Dr. Adrienne Craig
  • Keri Davis
  • Lashica Thomas
  • Dana Larkin
  • Debby Mayo
  • Chloe Gattshall
  • Anne Brown

Ask Cody

Ask Cody