This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email
2021 Recognition Awards Program - Columbus State University

{{ rssData.title }}

{{ rssData.description }}

Student Affairs

2021 Recognition Awards Program

Partnership Award

The Partnership Award is given to a campus or community individual, department, or organization who goes above and beyond to support and collaborate on programs and initiatives sponsored by Student Affairs.

  • Dr. Sharon Renner
  • Julio Llanos
  • Shana Young

Most Outstanding Student Leader Award

The most outstanding Student Leader Award is presented to two student leaders who have been nominated by a staff member at CSU. These students have a GPA above 2.5 and have worked within a department for at least one semester. These nominees possess traits including leadership and interpersonal skills, campus involvement, and commitment to their position. The recipients of the Most Outstanding Student Leader Award will receive the opportunity to shadow an Administrator of their choice.

  • Curtis Walker
  • Blake Hill

New Professional Award

The New Professional Award is presented to the most driven and productive new employee hired within the last two years. Showing expertise in their field, exceptional customer service, and team mentality, this recipient will receive a 1-year membership to Young Professionals.

  • Daysha Tucker

Customer Service Award

The Customer Service Award is presented to the individual that exhibit the most customer and student-friendly personality. This individual exhibits excellent customer service in responding to students, parents, and peers in a timely and courteous manner; solving customer service problems/concerns quickly and innovatively; developing new ways to benefit students and parents while promoting the mission of the Division of Student Affairs.

  • Libby Smith

Campus Compact Award

The Campus Compact Award is given to an individual who demonstrates interdepartmental and campus support. This individual communicates and collaborates within their department, Student Affairs, the CSU campus, and local community. The recipient of this award will receive the rotating Campus Compact Award and present the trophy to next year’s recipient.

  • Vicki Roebuck

Cougar Genius Award

The Cougar Genius Award is given to three departments who have implemented programs within the academic year that demonstrate student participation and components that assist within retention or graduation. This plaque will be displayed in the Vice President of Student Affairs office each year. This year we are able to recognize three programs ranked by Gold, Silver, and Bronze levels.


  • Gold
  • Student life and Development, Campus Recreation, and SGA-Staycation
  • Silver
  • Fraternity and Sorority Life - New Member Summit Online Education
  • Bronze
  • Campus Recreation - Club Football

Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award

Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award is presented to a professional staff member who has exceeded the expectations of what is in his or her job description. This recipient has served CSU for at least 3 years, excels in job performance, and significantly contributes to CSU’s mission. The recipient will also receive sponsored attendance to the Jim Blanchard Leadership Forum.

  • Chris Walker
  • Margaret Mclntyre
  • Rodger Page
  • Michelle Dorrill

New Professional Institute Award

NPI is the preeminent professional development opportunity for new Student Affairs professionals in the south. NPI is an intensive, interactive week of learning, sharing, networking, and professional and personal development. This unique opportunity allows new professionals to draw on their first years of experience to improve their effectiveness and to learn from others. It is a time of professional and personal renewal and assists new professionals in the development of their careers.

  • Johnnae Roberts

CSU Committment Award

The CSU Commitment Award recognizes any staff member within Student Affairs that has served CSU for a minimum of 5, 10, or 20 years.

    Recognized for 5 years of service
  • Joanne Newman
  • Christopher Schneeberger
  • Christopher Reed
    Recognized for 10 years of service
  • John McElveen
  • Kyle Baboi
  • Matthew Killingsworth
  • Bobby Lindsey
    Recognized for 20 years of service
  • Tessie Aina

Thank You to the Committee

  • Dr. Melissa Dempsey
  • Chloe McArdle
  • Lashica Thomas
  • Marie Grandison
  • Dana Larkin
  • William Keen

Ask Cody

Ask Cody