This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email
Graduate Council - Columbus State University

Graduate School

Graduate Council

Graduate Council Image

The Graduate School provides a framework for supporting excellence in graduate research, scholarship, teaching, and mentorship in accordance with Columbus State University's mission and consistent with the mission of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

The Graduate School is led by the Dean of Research and Graduate Studies, who is assisted by a representative body, the Graduate Council. Among its responsibilities, the Graduate Council approves new and revised graduate programs and certificates, develops policies and processes related to graduate studies, approves graduate admission requirements, and reviews and approves faculty for teaching at the graduate level.

The Graduate Council meetings are usually held on the 2nd Friday of each month at 12:00pm in the Graduate School, Tucker Hall 104.

Graduate Council Membership 2021–2022

Year 3

  • Kimberly Gill, COLS
  • Bryan Tyo, Secretary, COEHP

Year 2

  • Saoussan Maarouf, Past Chair, COEHP
  • Toni Franklin, COEHP
  • Sarah Gravel, Chair-Elect, COEHP

Year 1

  • Shamim Khan, Chair, TCOB
  • Kevin Burgess, COLS
  • Lisa Oberlander, COA
  • Mahmut Reyhanoglu, COLS
  • Neal Thomson, TCOB


  • Dr. Tim Howard, SACSCOS Liaison
  • Ryan Lynch, Faculty Senate Representative, COLS
  • Ms. Kristin Williams, Graduate Admission Liaison
  • Dr. Margie Yates, Interim Associate Provost and Director of the Graduate School

Meeting Dates and Minutes


Graduate Council Bylaws (Revised September 2020)

Graduate Council Archives

Virtual Advisor