This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email
The University System of Georgia - Columbus State University

{{ rssData.title }}

{{ rssData.description }}


The University System of Georgia

The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia- four comprehensive and special-purpose universities, two regional universities, 13 state universities and senior colleges, two state colleges, and 13 two-year colleges. These 34 public institutions are located throughout the state.

A 16-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the university system, which has been in operation since 1932. Appointments of board members- five from the state-at-large and one from each of the state's 11 congressional districts- are made by the governor, subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The regular term of board members is seven years.

The chair, the vice chair, and other officers of the board are elected by the members of the board. The chancellor, who is not a member of the board, is the chief executive officer of the board and the chief administrative officer of the university system.

The overall programs and services of the university system are offered through three major components: instruction, public service/continuing education, and research.

Instruction consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates.

Requirements for admission of students to instructional programs at each of the institutions are determined, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents, by the institution. The board establishes minimum academic standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed in all cases to the institutions.

A core curriculum, consisting of freshman and sophomore years of study for students whose educational goals are degrees beyond the associate level, is in effect at the universities, senior colleges, and two-year colleges. This curriculum requires 42 semester credit hours in essential skills (English and mathematics), institutional options, humanities and fine arts, science, math, technology, and social sciences. The core facilitates the transfer of freshman and sophomore degree credits within the university system.

Public service/continuing education consists of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of college-degree-credit courses. The non-degree activities are of several types, including short courses, seminars, conferences, lectures, and consultative and advisory services, in a large number of areas of interest. Typical college-degree-credit public service/continuing education courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

Research encompasses investigations conducted on campuses and at many off-campus locations, covering a large number and a large variety of matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general societal needs. Most of the research is conducted through the universities.

The policies of the Board of Regents for the government, management, and control of the university system and the administrative actions of the chancellor provide autonomy of high degree for each institution. The chief executive of each institution is the president, whose election is recommended by the chancellor and approved by the board.

State appropriations for the university system are requested by, and are made to, the Board of Regents. Allocations of the appropriations are made by the board.

Regents, University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W. Atlanta, Ga. 30334

Regents, University System of Georgia
District Regent Term Expires Address
State at Large Charles H. Jones (2002)


State at Large Warren Y. Jobe (1999)


State at Large Donald M. Leebern Jr. (1998)


State at Large J. Tom Coleman Jr. (2002)


State at Large Hilton H. Howell Jr. (2004)


First David H. (Hal) Averitt (2004)


Second John Hunt (2004)


Third Vacant    
Fourth Juanita Powell Baranco (2005)


Fifth Elridge W. McMillan (2003)


Sixth Kenneth W. Cannestra (2001)


Seventh Edgar L. Rhodes (1999)


Eighth John H. Clark (1999)


Ninth Edgar L. Jenkins (2001)


Tenth Thomas F. Allgood, Sr., Chair (2000)


Eleventh Glenn S. White (2005)


Term of office expires on January first of year shown in parentheses.

Officers and Staff of the Board of Regents

Officers and Staff of the Board of Regents
Name Position
Stephen R. Portch


Gail S. Weber Secretary to the Board/Executive Administrative Assistant
Arthur N. Dunning Senior Vice Chancellor for Human and External Resources/Acting Deputy
Thomas E. Daniel

Vice Chancellor of External Affairs

T. Don Davis

Associate Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Elizabeth E. Neely

Associate Vice Chancellor, Legal Affairs

Lindsay Desrochers Senior Vice Chancellor, Capital Resources/Treasures
William R. Bowes

Associate Vice Chancellor, Fiscal Affairs

William K. Chatham

Vice Chancellor, Facilities

James L. Muyskens

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

Barry A. Fullerton

Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

E. Michael Stamon

Vice Chancellor, Information /Instructional Technology /CIO

Cathie M. Hudson

Associate Vice Chancellor, Planning and Policy Analysis

John T.Wolfe Jr.

Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Institutions of the University System of Georgia


  • Georgia Institute of Technology - h; B,M,D
  • Georgia State University - h; A,B,J,M,S,D
  • Medical College of Georgia - h; A,B,M,D
  • University of Georgia - h; A,B,J,M,S,D

Regional Universities

  • Georgia Southern University - h; A,B,M,S,cD
  • Valdosta State University - h; A,B,M,S,cD

State Universities and Senior Colleges

  • Albany State University - h; B,M
  • Armstrong Atlantic State University - A,B,M,S
  • Augusta State University - A,B,M,S
  • Clayton College and State University - A,B
  • Columbus State University - h; A,B,M,S
  • Fort Valley State University - h; A,B,M
  • Georgia College and State University - h; A,B,M,S
  • Georgia Southwestern State University - h; A,B,M,S
  • Kennesaw State University - A,B,M North
  • Georgia College and State University - h; A,B,M
  • Savannah State University - h; A,B,M
  • Southern Polytechnic State University - h; A,B
  • State University of West Georgia - h; A,B,M,S

State Colleges

  • Dalton StateCollege - A
  • Macon State College - A,B

Two-Year Colleges

  • Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College- h; A
  • Atlanta Metropolitan College - A
  • Bainbridge College - A
  • Brunswick College - A
  • Darton College - A
  • DeKalb College - A
  • East Georgia College - A
  • Floyd College - A
  • Gainesville College - A
  • Gordon College - h; A
  • Middle Georgia College - h; A
  • South Georgia College - h; A
  • Waycross College - A

University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1450

Key to Abbreviations Used on This Page

h - On Campus Student Housing Facilities

Degrees Awarded:

  • A-Associate;
  • B-Bachelor's;
  • J-Juris Doctor;
  • M-Master's;
  • S-Specialist in Education;
  • D-Doctor's;
  • cD-Doctor's, offered in cooperation with a university system university, with degree awarded by the university

Ask Cody

Ask Cody