This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email
Chappell Graduate Faculty Award - Columbus State University

Academic Affairs

Chappell Graduate Faculty Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize those full-time members of the Columbus State University Graduate Faculty who, in the tradition established by Dr. William “Bill” Chappell, have demonstrated excellence in teaching Columbus State University’s graduate students and have contributed outstanding professional service to the Graduate School, the University and the community.

2019-2020 Chappell Graduate Faculty Award Winner

Debbie Gober

Dr. Debbie Gober, Professor of Mathematics Education, UTeach Columbus Co-Director
College of Education and Health Professions

Dr. Debbie Gober has been a leader in graduate education for years at CSU.  She has been instrumental being part of a team of faculty members who have secured several grants to provide scholarships to graduate students seeking degrees in secondary math education. Dr. Gober led the development and delivery of the Woodrow Wilson program and the Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in Math and Science online program.  Additionally, she has been a leader through her professional organization, the National Council for Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) and the Georgia chapter (GCTM) and encourages her students to become active participants in professional organizations. Dr. Gober’s commitment to excellence and her attention to the needs of her students play a significant role in the quality of our graduates in math and science secondary education.

Virtual Advisor