- Tuition and Fees
- Classification of Students for Tuition Purposes
- Other Expenses and Penalties
- Refund Policy
Fees are subject to change by Columbus State University and/or the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. Current fee information and payment deadlines are published online each semester. It is the student's responsibility to be aware of current fees and applicable payment deadlines. Students are not officially registered until all fees have been paid.
Tuition and Fees
* The tuition and fees listed in this catalog are for the 2010-2011 Academic Year. Also, a current listing of tuition and fees can be found on the Web at Columbus State University: Registration - Tuition and Fees.
Undergraduate students who meet residency requirements for in-state tuition and are enrolled for 15 or more credit hours are assessed in-state tuition at $1,937 or $130 per hour if enrolled in less than 15 hours. Undergraduate students who do not meet residency requirements for in-state tuition and are enrolled for 15 or more credit hours are assessed out-of-state tuition at $7,744 or $577 per hour if enrolled in less than 15 hours. Online undergraduate courses are assessed a tuition rate of $190 per hour and are not subject to the 15 hour cap. Special undergraduate programs may be charged at a higher rate.
Graduate students who meet residency requirements for in-state tuition and are enrolled for 12 or more credit hours are assessed in-state tuition at $1,875 or $157 per hour if enrolled in less than 12 hours. Graduate students who do not meet residency requirements for in-state tuition and are enrolled for 12 or more credit hours are assessed out-of-state tuition at $7,500 or $625 per hour if enrolled in less than 15 hours. Online graduate courses are assessed a tuition rate of $217 per hour and are not subject to the 12 hour cap. Special graduate programs and courses may be charged at a higher rate.
The following mandatory fees are assessed to all students* for fall and spring semester:
|Campus Access Fee||$20|
|Parking Deck Fee||$39|
*All fees except the technology fee and the institutional fee may be waived for certain distance education programs. Mandatory fees for summer term may be charged at slightly lower rate.
Fee and Tuition Waivers
Residents of Georgia enrolling under Georgia Constitutional Amendment 23 (62 years of age or older) may have fees and tuition waived. Students must pay special lab fees if applicable. Arrangements should be made in advance through the Admissions Office.
Students approved for graduate assistantships are assessed tuition of $25 for up to 10 semester hours of credit plus applicable student activity, athletic, technology, health, campus access, and parking deck fees.
Classification of Students for Tuition Purposes
Definition of Legal Residence
The Board of Regents has adopted the following policies for the purpose of determining in-state tuition status of students:
- Independent Student (an individual 24 years of age or older)
An Independent Student who has established and maintained a domicile in the State of Georgia for a period of at least 12 consecutive months immediately proceeding the first day of classes for the term shall be classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes. If an independent student classified as "in-state" relocates temporarily but returns to the State of Georgia within 12 months, the student shall be entitled to retain in-state tuition classification.
- Dependent Student (an individual under the age of 24)
A dependent student shall be classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes if either i) the dependent student's parent has established and maintained domicile in the State of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for the term and the student has graduated from a Georgia high school or ii) the dependent student's parent has established and maintained domicile in the State of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for the term and the parent claimed the student as a dependent on the parent's most recent Georgia State tax return. A dependent student shall be classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes if a U.S. court-appointed legal guardian has established and maintained domicile in the State of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for the term, provided that appointment was not made to avoid payment of out-of-state tuition and the U.S. court-appointed legal guardian can provide clear evidence of having established and maintained domicile in the State of Georgia for a period of at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the first day of classes for the term. In addition, if the parent or U.S. court-appointed legal guardian of a dependent student currently classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes establishes domicile outside of Georgia after having established and maintained domicile in the State of Georgia, the student may retain in-state tuition classification as long as the student remains continuously enrolled in a public postsecondary educational institution in the state, regardless of the domicile of the parent or U.S. court-appointed legal guardian.
- Non-US Citizens
Non-citizens initially shall not be classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes unless there is evidence to warrant consideration of in-state classification. Lawful permanent residents, refugees, asylees, or other eligible non-citizens as defined by federal Title IV regulations may be extended the same consideration as citizens of the United States in determining whether they qualify for in-state classification. International students who reside in the United States under nonimmigrant status conditioned at least in part upon intent not to abandon a foreign domicile are not eligible for in-state classification.
- **It is presumed that no student shall have gained or acquired in-state classification
while attending any postsecondary educational institution in this state without clear
evidence of having established domicile in Georgia for purposes other than attending
a postsecondary educational institution in this state.
Non-Resident Fee Waivers
The Board of Regents has adopted the following policies for the purpose of determining eligibility for waiver of out-of-state tuition:
- Students who have been legal residents of Lee and Russell Counties in Alabama for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of enrollment.
- Full-time employees of the University System of Georgia, their spouse, and dependent children.
- Full-time employees in the public schools of Georgia or the Technical College System of Georgia, their spouse and dependent children. Teachers employed full time on military bases in Georgia shall also qualify for this waiver.
- Active duty military personnel stationed in Georgia and their Family Members.
- Georgia National Guard and US Military Reservists. ("Week end Warrior")
- Students who have moved to Georgia due to full-time employment of self or court-appointed guardian within 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of registration. (Economic Advantage)
- Students recently separated from uniformed military service.
- Students may also be eligible for a general waiver. New or returning students with a 2.75 or higher GPA may apply for a general out-of-state waiver.
- International and Direct Exchange Programs
- Vocational Rehabilitation Waiver
- Nonresident Student
- International (F-1) Student Waiver - See Center for International Education website for information regarding international student scholarships
See the Office of Admissions for details and deadlines on the above listed waivers.
Petition to Change Tuition Classification Status
Students are responsible for registering under the proper tuition status. Students classified as non-residents for tuition purposes who believe they are entitled to be reclassified as legal residents must petition the Director of Admissions for a change in status. The petition must be filed no later than the schedule change (add only) deadline of the semester in order for students to be considered for reclassification for that semester. If the petition is granted, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior semesters. Information about necessary documentation to support a petition for reclassification is available in the Admissions Office.
Other Expenses and Penalties
A non-refundable, one-time application fee of $30 is required of all applicants except Georgia residents 62 years of age or older, and active duty military personnel.
Residents of CSU apartments and other housing must be enrolled full-time at Columbus State University. Fees are due at the time of registration. Fees for housing range from $1,995 to $3,300 per semester, depending on whether students share a bedroom or bathroom and, in some instances, how many students share an apartment. Meal plans that offer students five to 10 meals per week on CSU&'s main campus are available from $900 to $1,550 per semester. Fees are subject to change by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. For an overview of options related to living at CSU, visit http://www.colstate.edu/future/live.php.
Housing applications are available online, linked to the above pages, which offer more information on housing fees. A damage deposit must accompany a housing application before it will be processed.
Among other amenities, all CSU apartments feature 24-hour security, high-speed Internet access, a full kitchen and on-site laundry and fitness facilities. Utilities, local phone service and free extended cable television service are included in the housing fees. A free shuttle bus transports students hourly between CSU housing and the two campuses. Both campuses offer shopping and dining opportunities within walking distance.
Additional Registration Fees
First-time registrations during the schedule change period, $25; registrations approved after schedule change, $50.
A special class fee is added to certain courses to cover the costs of instructional materials or other expenses. Refer to the online fee information for the amount of these fees.
Applied Music Fees
Special fees are added for individual and class instruction in applied music. Refer to the online fee information for the amount of these fees.
All book sales are final; no refunds will be made. Approximate cost of books and supplies ranges from approximately $400-$600 per semester.
Delinquent Fees and Fines
Students may be withdrawn from Columbus State University at any time they become delinquent in the payment of tuition, fees, the clearing of fines, or the repayment of loans. Students who owe a balance for housing or the meal plan may be removed from housing and/or have their meal plan suspended for failure to pay. A $50 Delinquent Account Fee will be charged to accounts that are 60 days past due in the payment of tuition, fees, housing, or meals. Registration will be stopped and copies of educational records will be withheld if a student has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans. If a student has early registered for a future term and has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans, their registration for the future term may be cancelled. Students referred to a collection agency will be responsible for additional collection fees and may have their account status reported to major Credit Reporting Bureaus.
Returned Check Charge
A returned check charge of $30 or five percent of the amount of the check, whichever is greater, will be charged for returned checks. After one returned check, personal checks will not be accepted. Any student enrolled who fails to clear a returned check for tuition within 10 days of notification may be disenrolled. Records will be held and the check must be redeemed prior to further registration or receipt of transcript. Students referred to a collection agency will be responsible for additional collection fees and may have their account status reported to major Credit Reporting Bureaus.
Fees will be recalculated and appropriate adjustments made for students who register and then find it necessary to drop a course before the end of the allowable schedule change period. No refund will be made for a reduction in credit hours after the last day to drop during the schedule change period. Students who formally withdraw from the university or cancel their registration before the end of the allowable schedule change period will be entitled to a complete (100%) refund of all registration fees. Students withdrawing from all courses after the end of the allowable schedule change period will be entitled to a prorated refund of the tuition, fees, and other elective charges. The proportion refundable is determined by the date of withdrawal and is equal to that portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on the last day of attendance, up to the 60 percent point in time of the semester.
All students receiving financial assistance who formally withdraw or who stop attending all classes are subject to regulations regarding the return of funds to the appropriate aid program.
Refunds are applied in the following order:
- Unsubsidized Direct Stafford Loan
- Subsidized Direct Stafford Loan
- Perkins Loan
- Direct PLUS - Graduate Student
- Direct PLUS Loan - Parent
- Academic Competitiveness Grant
- National Smart Grant
- Pell Grant
- Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant
- Other Title IV programs
- HOPE Scholarship
- Other non-Title IV programs
NOTE: The student must return unearned aid for which he/she is responsible by repaying funds to the applicable aid program.
The following steps are performed in refund determination:
Step 1. Determine the student's Title IV aid and HOPE for the term
Step 2. Calculate the percentage of Title IV aid and HOPE earned
Step 3. Determine the amount of Title IV aid and HOPE earned by the student
Step 4. Determine the total Title IV aid and HOPE to be returned
Step 5. Determine the amount of unearned Title IV aid and HOPE due from the school
Step 6. Determine the amount of unearned Title IV aid and HOPE due from the student
Examples are available in the Financial Aid Office, University Hall.
All non-resident fees, matriculation fees, and other required fees paid for the semester will be refunded in the event of the death of a student at any time during a semester. A separate refund schedule will be in effect during summer terms. Students who do not formally withdraw, those suspended for disciplinary reasons, or those who leave the university when disciplinary action is pending are not eligible for a refund of any portion of any fee. Refunds for recalculated fees and 100 percent withdrawals will be released within approximately two weeks after the semester begins. All other refunds will be released within two weeks of withdrawal or adjustment to records.