This website uses cookies. Learn more via our web privacy policy. For questions, please email dataprivacy@columbusstate.edu.
Contact Us - Columbus State University

Presidential Search Information and Updates

Department of History & Geography

Contact Us

Department of History

Phone: 706-507-8350

Faculty & Staff

headshot of Dr. Gary Sprayberry

Dr. Gary Sprayberry

Professor / Department Chair

Department: History & Geography
Email: sprayberry_gary@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8356
Office: Yancey Center 347
View Profile for Dr. Gary Sprayberry

headshot of Dr. Bryan Banks

Dr. Bryan Banks

Assistant Professor

Department: History & Geography
Email: banks_bryan@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8353
Office: Yancey Center 352
View Profile for Dr. Bryan Banks

headshot of Patty Chappel

Patty Chappel

Academic Support Assistant

Department: History & Geography
Email: chappel_patty@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8350
Office: Yancey Center 341

headshot of Dr. David Kieran

Dr. David Kieran

Associate Professor
Colonel Richard R. Hallock Distinguished Chair in Military History

Department: History & Geography
Email: kieran_david@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8355
Office: Yancey Center 355
View Profile for Dr. David Kieran

headshot of Dr. Ryan Lynch

Dr. Ryan Lynch

Associate Professor

Department: History & Geography
Email: lynch_ryan1@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8397
Office: Yancey Center 350
Subject Matter Expert: Education, Education - Higher Education, History, Political Science
View Profile for Dr. Ryan Lynch

headshot of Dr. Caroline Newhall

Dr. Caroline Newhall

Assistant Professor

Department: History & Geography
Email: newhall_caroline@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8359
Office: Yancey Center 356
View Profile for Dr. Caroline Newhall

headshot of Dr. Eric Spears

Dr. Eric Spears

Associate Professor

Department: History & Geography
Email: spears_eric@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8587
Office: Schuster Center 122
Subject Matter Expert: Geographic Information Systems, Geography, Latin American Studies
View Profile for Dr. Eric Spears

headshot of Dr. Doug Tompson

Dr. Doug Tompson

Associate Professor

Department: History & Geography
Email: tompson_doug@columbusstate.edu
Phone: 706-507-8354
Office: Yancey Center 354
View Profile for Dr. Doug Tompson

Part-Time Faculty & Staff

Faculty and Staff Contact Information
NameTitleEmail Address
Andrew BairdPart Time Limited Term Facultybaird_andrew@columbusstate.edu
Stephen BoydPart Time Limited Term Facultyboyd_stephen2@columbusstate.edu
Stanford BrownPart Time Limited Term Facultybrown_stanford@columbusstate.edu
Gregory BurrisPart Time Limited Term Facultyburris_gregory@columbusstate.edu
Brandon FurnishPart Time Limited Term Facultyfurnish_brandon@columbusstate.edu
Rwanda GatesPart Time Limited Term Facultygates_rwanda@columbusstate.edu
Patrick LuckPart Time Limited Term Facultyluck_patrick@columbusstate.edu
Jeffery SeymourPart Time Limited Term Facultyseymour_jeffery@columbusstate.edu
Virtual Advisor