PRESS RELEASE

2023 SCHOLASTIC HONORS CONVOCATION Friday, April 28, 2023 Columbus State University

FACULTY AWARD:

• EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR: Dr. Jonathan Meyers

STUDENT AWARDS:

ACADEMIC RECOGNITION AWARD: Kaitlyn Shepherd

• FACULTY CUP AWARD: Spencer White

PHI KAPPA PHI OUTSTANDING STUDENT OF THE YEAR AWARD: Jae Yu STUDENT OF EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Department	Recipient
Art	Ian Dooley
Communication	Elizabeth Nesbitt
Music	Spencer White
Theatre	Storm Cole
Accounting & Finance	Brodey Goebel
Marketing & Management	Edwin Johns
Computer Science	Eriq Robicheaux
Teacher Education, Leadership & Counseling	Kimberly Apple
Undergraduate Health Science	Dominique Webb
Undergraduate Kinesiology	Josie Williams
Graduate Health & Physical Education	Derrick Sands
Masters of Public Health	Michael Lambert
School of Nursing	Anna Fugh
Criminology	Melissa Stokes-Martinez
Sociology	Wendy Brundage
English	Destinee Williams
History	Lucy Clarke
Geography	Bailey Melton
Modern & Classical Languages	Raquel Aponte

Politics, Philosophy & Public Administration	Joanelys Lamberty
M.S. Natural Sciences - Biology Track	Edison Rea
M.S. Natural Sciences – Environmental Science Track	Sarah Tash
M.S. Natural Sciences - Geoscience Track	Brendon O'Keeffee
Chemistry	Kristina Armstrong
Earth & Space Sciences	Sabrina Fisher
Mathematics	Thomas Merino
Mathematics – Data Science	Justin Ludwig
Mathematics – Applied Mathematics	Brady Hampel
Psychology	Youbin Park

DEPARTMENT AWARDS

COLLEGE OF THE ARTS

Award Title	Recipient
B.A. Studio Art Award	Ava Jenkins
B.F.A. Studio Art Award	Campbell Eubanks
Art History Award	Kennedy Williams
Art Education Undergraduate Award	Noah Shedd
Art Education Graduate Award	Kayla Whitmire
Communication Student of the Year Award	Rae Palmer
Senior Music Major Award	Spencer White
Presser Scholar Award	Austin Murray
Outstanding Freshman Music Major Award	Cole Zelman
Theatre Arts Award	lan Rossin
Theatre Arts: Performance Award	Keenan Pasqua
Theatre Arts: Design & Technical Award	Sun Lindstrom
Theatre Arts: Education Award	Storm Cole

TURNER COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Award Title	Recipient
Accounting Award	Carley Canzoneri
Finance Award	George Ryker Singer
Management Award	Edwin Johns
General Business Award	Joseph Borchardt
Marketing Award	Taylor Parker
Management Information Systems Award	Zeanne Janine Abano
Master of Business Administration Award	McKenzie Doran
Master of Science in Organizational Leadership Award	Sara Ramirez Goncalves
B.S. in Computer Science: Software Systems Track Award	Donghyeon Park
B.S. in Computer Science: Web Development Track Award	Austin Lee
B.S. in Computer Science: Games Programming Track Award	Eriq Robicheaux
B.S in Information Technology Award	Peyton Daniel
B.S. in Computer Science: Cybersecurity Track Award	Noah Neundorfer
B.S in Computer Science: Enterprise Computing Track Award	Tashema Johnson
B.S in Cybersecurity Award	Eboni Franklin
M.S.in Applied Computer Science: A.I. & Machine Learning Track Award	Mayank Gaba
M.S. in Applied Computer Science: Software Development Track Award	Harika Bhemidi
M.S. in Applied Computer Science: Traditional Track Award	Vamsi Krishna Bhagavathula
M.S. in Applied Computer Science: Cybersecurity Track Award	Itorobong Udo
M.S in Cybersecurity Management Award	Joel Frimpong

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HEALTH PROFESSIONS

Award Title	Recipient
School Counseling Graduate Award	Allyn Jones
Clinical Mental Health Counseling Graduate Award	Samantha Twaddell
Educational Leadership Graduate Award	Heather Melton
Educational Leadership - Higher Education Graduate Award	Sasshay Tremble
Doctor of Education - Educational Leadership Track Award	Gloria Bernal-Askew
Doctor of Education - Curriculum Track Award	Bridget Smith
Doctor of Education - Higher Education Administration Award	Kendall Forde
Elementary Education Undergraduate Award	Chloe Torres
Elementary Education Graduate Award	Robert Tumpalan
Middle Grades Education Undergraduate Award	Abigail Lewis
Middle Grades Education Graduate Award	Timetrice Thomas
English Education Undergraduate Award	Lydia Strueker
English Education Graduate Award	Rebecca Winterling
Spanish Education Undergraduate Award	Esmima Vital-Vences
Secondary Mathematics Education Graduate Award	Cynthia Scheuermann
UTeach Mathematics Education Undergraduate Award	Danelle Spalla
UTeach Science Education Undergraduate Award	Ashleigh Drew
Secondary Science Education Graduate Award	Thomas Johnson
History Education Undergraduate Award	Jacklyn Brasher
Social Science Education Graduate Award	Wesley Daniel
Special Education Undergraduate Award	Curtissia Penamon
Special Education Graduate Award	Caroline Walker
Curriculum & Instruction In Accomplished Teaching Graduate	
Award	Daphne Snowden
Teacher Leadership Graduate Award	Amber Terrell
Outstanding Nursing B.S.N. Award	Kaila Rogers
Outstanding Nursing M.S.N. Award	Megan Lawrence
Outstanding Nursing R.N B.S.N. Award	Pamela Zasucha
Outstanding Nursing F.N.P. Award	Myranda Harbuck

COLLEGE OF LETTERS & SCIENCES

	T
Award Title	Recipient
Literature Award	Jaycee Morrison
Professional Writing Award	Naomi Masuoka
Creative Writing Award	Molly Foster
Outstanding Senior Teacher Education Track Award	Esmima Vital-Vences
Outstanding Literature & Culture Track Award	Kayah Young
Outstanding Political Science Major Award	Timothy Sabau
Mario Mion Political Science Honors Scholarship Award	Kaylee Wyatt
Master of Public Administration Award	Meagan Santana Peters
Philosophy Award	William Blake Lowry
Cellular & Molecular Biology Award	Zoe Vazquez
Biology Education Award	Lizbeth Medrano
George Stanton Biology Award	Andrew Holmes
Organismic Biology Award	Ryan Page
Ecological & Evolutionary Biology Award	Elizabeth Lambert
Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Major Award	Gabriela Hernandez
Excellence in Chemistry Research Award	Imani Rogers
Geology Award	James Mills
Astronomy Award	A'naja Houston
Physics Award	Kayleen Linge
Environmental Science Award	Rashalyn Smith
Outstanding Mathematics Student Award	Nicholas Dunn
Calculus Award	Rohan Patel
Psychology Academic Achievement Award	Alaysia Brown
Psychology Undergraduate Research Award	Taneshia Wakefield

HONORS COLLEGE

Award Title	Recipient
Interdisciplinary Studies Award	Sonya Mahon
Scholarly Activities in Fine & Performing Arts Award	Keenan Pasqua
Scholarly Activities in Humanities Award	Destinee Williams
Scholarly Activities in Professional Studies Award	Kaylee Day

Scholarly Activities in Science Award	Sabrina Fisher
Scholarly Activities in Social Science Award	Timothy Sabau