PRESS RELEASE

2022 SCHOLASTIC HONORS CONVOCATION Friday, April 22, 2022 Columbus State University

FACULTY AWARD:

• EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR: Dr. Jordan Brasher

STUDENT AWARDS:

- ACADEMIC RECOGNITION AWARD: Jessica DeMarco- Jacobson
- FACULTY CUP AWARD: Sophia Brown

• PHI KAPPA PHI SENIOR AWARD: Jessica DeMarco-Jacobson

STUDENT OF EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Department	Recipient
Art	Carlie Hedges
Communication	Tamera Wilkerson
Music	Samuel Vargas Teixeira
Theatre	Wesley Martinez
Accounting & Finance	Grace Cotton
Marketing & Management	Maria Kilset
Computer Science	Suhev Skakya
Teacher Education, Leadership & Counseling	Danelle Spalla
Health Science	Kyla Mims
Kinesiology	Adriana Tenorio-Zelada
Health & Physical Education	Jessica Anderson
Public Health	Michael Lambert
School of Nursing	Taylor Mattson
Criminology	Heidi Parsons
Sociology	Julia Lawyer
English	Sidney Ducleroir
History	Sophia Brown
Geography	Landon Bray
Modern & Classical Languages	Eleanor Lamb

Politics, Philosophy & Public Administration	Timothy Sabau
M.S. Natural Sciences - Biology Track	Julie Wilson
M.S. Natural Sciences - Chemistry Track	Jihyeon Park
M.S. Natural Sciences - Environmental Science Track	Juliana Giles
M.S. Natural Sciences - Geoscience Track	Jeremy Wiles
Biology	Chelsea Nguyen
Chemistry	Kristina Armstrong
Earth & Space Sciences	Sharmaine Olivia Motin
Mathematics	Felicity Acosta
Psychology	Natasha Tillmon

DEPARTMENT AWARDS

COLLEGE OF THE ARTS

Award Title	Recipient
B.A. Studio Art Award	MaxineRose Sanchez
B.F.A. Studio Art Award	Bridget Brown
Art History Award	Karina Jackson
Art Education Undergraduate Award	Noah Shedd
Art Education Graduate Award	Marlana Hurst
Communication Award	Laura McKenna
Senior Music Major Award	Samuel Vargas Teixeira
Presser Scholar Award	Nathaniel Parker
Outstanding Freshman Music Major Award	Daniel Cruz
Theatre Arts Award	Lauren Alexandra Pollock
Theatre Arts: Performance Award	Tatiana Grace
Theatre Arts: Design & Technical Award	Wesley Martinez
Theatre Arts: Education Award	Sierra Farmer

TURNER COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Award Title	Recipient
-------------	-----------

Accounting Award	Grace Cotton
Finance Award	Alvaro Resendiz
Management Award	Lauren Benefield
General Business Award	Maria Kilset
Marketing Award	Hannah Patchin
Management Information Systems Award	Alden Mercer
Master of Business Administration Award	Victoria Libaak
Master of Science in Organizational Leadership Award	Zachary Whaanga
B.S. in Computer Science: Software Systems Track Award	Tyler Wenndt
B.S. in Computer Science: Web Development Track Award	Brandon Corn
B.S. in Computer Science: Games Programming Track Award	Suhev Skakya
M.S.in Applied Computer Science Award	Sahana Deb
B.S in Information Technology Award	Daniel Hill
B.S. in Computer Science: Cybersecurity Track Award	Summra Akalework
B.S in Computer Science: Enterprise Computing Track Award	Nicholas Daut
M.S.in Cybersecurity Management Award	Shetia Butler

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HEALTH PROFESSIONS

Recipient	
Asia Sickelbaugh	
Heather Sigmund	
Elizabeth Morris	
April McNiff	
Gloria Askew	
Engracia Barnes	
Marian "Gina" Sample	
Emma Wetherington	

Elementary Education Graduate Award	Azriel Pitts
Middle Grades Education Undergraduate Award	Shayla Foston
Middle Grades Education Graduate Award	Junnie McKay
English Education Undergraduate Award	Natalie Neill
English Education Graduate Award	Jalin Murphy
Spanish Education Undergraduate Award	Lindsay Clifton
Secondary Mathematics Education Graduate Award	Shirley Baugher
UTeach Mathematics Education Undergraduate Award	Danelle Spalla
UTeach Science Education Undergraduate Award	Hannah Butenschon
Secondary Science Education Graduate Award	Thomas A. Johnson
History Education Undergraduate Award	Jacklyn Brasher
Social Science Education Graduate Award	Kristin Andris
Special Education Undergraduate Award	Allison Shiver
Special Education Graduate Award	Brooke Smallwood
Curriculum & Instruction In Accomplished Teaching Graduate	
Award	Gina Jones
Teacher Leadership Graduate Award	Joshua Alsup
Outstanding Nursing B.S.N. Award	Alexis Lyon
Outstanding Nursing M.S.N. Award	Christina Deturris
Outstanding Nursing R.N B.S.N. Award	Tiffany Cranmer
Outstanding Nursing F.N.P. Award	Jennifer Green

COLLEGE OF LETTERS & SCIENCES

Award Title	Recipient
Literature Award	Sidney Ducleroir
Professional Writing Award	Jasmyn Middleton
Creative Writing Award	Maja Nearing
Outstanding Senior Teacher Education Track Award	Lindsay Clifton
Outstanding Literature & Culture Track Award	Debrinja Watts
Outstanding Political Science Major Award	Belem Gonzalez Castaneda
Mario Mion Political Science Honors Scholarship Award	Belem Gonzalez Castaneda
Master of Public Administration Award	Paul Gurski
Philosophy Award	MaxineRose Sanchez

Cellular & Molecular Biology Award	Jacob Woessner
Biology Education Award	Elva Lucero
George Stanton Biology Award	Chelsea Nguyen
Organismic Biology Award	Heather Tolbert
Ecological & Evolutionary Biology Award	Samuel Dixon
Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Major Award	Presley Simmons
Excellence in Chemistry Research Award	Dominic Fico
Geology Award	Mackenzie Coffee
Astronomy Award	Devin Janeway
Physics Award	Jonathan Demont
Environmental Science Award	William Whisnant
Psychology Academic Achievement Award	Jonathan DeRouen

HONORS COLLEGE

Award Title	Recipient
Interdisciplinary Studies Award	Youbin Park
Scholarly Activities in Fine & Performing Arts Award	Emma Wigington
Scholarly Activities in Humanities Award	Meredith Cohen
Scholarly Activities in Professional Studies Award	Suhev Skakya
Scholarly Activities in Science Award	Nameera Khan
Scholarly Activities in Social Science Award	Sophia Brown