PRESS RELEASE

2021 SCHOLASTIC HONORS CONVOCATION Friday, April 23, 2021 Columbus State University

(Note: Convocation was a virtual ceremony.)

FACULTY AWARD:

• EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR: Dr. Cameron Williams

STUDENT AWARDS:

ACADEMIC RECOGNITION AWARD: Ivey Milam

• FACULTY CUP AWARD: Jessica DeMarco-Jacobson

STUDENT OF EXCELLENCE AWARDS:

Department	Student of Excellence
Department of Art	Cierra Fountain
Department of Communication	Sydney Collier
Schwob School of Music	Samuel Vargas Teixeira
Department of Theatre	Victoria Turk
Department of Accounting & Finance	Rebecca Christopher
Department of Management & Marketing	Madeline Goodfellow
TSYS School of Computer Science	Kyle Martinolich
Department of Teacher Education, Counseling & Leadership	Shannon Eshman
Department of Kinesiology & Health Sciences (Health Science)	Kyla Sumter
Department of Kinesiology & Health Sciences (Kinesiology)	Tanya Miller
Department of Kinesiology & Health Sciences (Health & Physical Education)	La'Tasha Morgan
Department of Kinesiolgy & Health Sciences (Exercise Science)	Giorgia Vitale
School of Nursing	Carissa Beckett
Department of Criminal Justice & Sociology (Criminology)	Horacio Enriquez
Department of Criminal Justice & Sociology (Sociology)	Harriet Stephens
Department of English	Jessica DeMarco- Jacobson
Department of History & Geography (History)	Vivian Leonard Walker
Department of History & Geography (Geography)	Samuel Belisle
Department of Modern & Classical Languages	Meredith Cohen
Department of Politics, Philosophy & Public Administration	Jana Talley

Department of Biology	Meenal Joshi

Department	Student of Excellence
Department of Biology (M.S. Natural	
Sciences – Biology Track)	Esteban Pinto Landeta
Department of Chemistry	Zi Jie Lin
Department of Chemistry (M.S. Natural	
Sciences – Chemistry Track)	Jihyeon Park
Department of Earth & Space Sciences	Stephanie Thompson
Department of Earth & Space Sciences	
(M.S. Natural Sciences – Geo-Science	
Track)	n/a
Department of Earth & Space Sciences	
(M.S. Natural Sciences – Environmental	
Science Track)	Lauren Moore
Dapartment of Mathematics	Nolan Bidleman
Department of Psychology	Stephanie Clarke

DEPARTMENTAL AWARDS

Honors College

Interdisciplinary Studies Award: Les Anderson

Scholarly Activities in Fine & Performing Arts Award: Molli McGinnis Scholarly Activities in Humanities Award: Jessica DeMarco-Jacobson Scholarly Activities in Professional Studies Award: Elijah Neundorfer

Scholarly Activities in Science Award: Meenal Joshi

Scholarly Activities in Social Science Award: Ashlyn Dewberry

College of the Arts

B.A. Studio Art Award: Taylor Mills B.F.A. Studio Art Award: Kate Scrivner Art History Award: Skyler Williams

Art Education (Undergraduate) Award: Saleah Dawson Art Education (Graduate) Award: Howard Willis, Jr.

Communication Award: Aspen Popowski Senior Music Award: Matthew McDowell The Presser Scholar Award: Margaret Archer

Theatre Arts Award: Carter Whiddon

Theatre Arts Performance Award: Gabrielle Story

Theatre Arts Design & Technical Award: Emma Wigington

Theatre Arts Education Award: Victoria Turk

D. Abbott Turner College of Business

Accounting Award: Megan Head Finance Award: Tristan Shytle

Management Award: Madeline Goodfellow General Business Award: Johnathan George Marketing Award: Reina Mendez-Arellano

Management Information Systems Award: Tatseyana Taylor

Master of Business Administration (Georgia WebMBA) Award: Brittney Herrin

Master of Business Administration Award: John Noblitt

Master of Science in Organizational Leadership Award: Lauralin Innis

B.S.in Applied Computer Science Award: Patrick McNamee

B.S. in Computer Science: Games Programming Award: Maranda Daugherty

B.S. in Information Technology Award: Patrick White

B.S. in Computer Science: Software Systems Award: Peter Keres
B.S. in Computer Science: Cybersecurity Award: Elijah Neundorfer
B.S in Computer Science: Web Development Award: Kody Martinolich
B.S in Computer Science: Enterprise Computing Award: Kyle Martinolich

B.S in Computer Science: Computer Teacher Education Award: Anthony Obando

M.S in Cybersecurity Management: Steven Manderson

College of Education and Health Professions

School Counseling (Graduate) Award: Candice Stevens

Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Graduate) Award: Cayla Doolittle

Educational Leadership (Graduate) Award: Brian Thomas

Educational Leadership – Higher Education (Gradaute) Award: Marisa Benitez Doctor of Education – Educational Leadership Track Award: Ginnette Bartlett

Doctor of Education – Curriculum Track Award: Allyson Douthit

Doctor of Education-Higher Education Administration Award: Amber Dees

Elementary Education (Undergraduate) Award: Miranda Santiago

Elementary Education (Graduate) Award: Tessa Davis

Middle Grades Education (Undergraduate) Award: Sydney Garner

Middle Grades Education (Graduate) Award: Alexis Wells English Education (Undergraduate) Award: Shari Shleibak English Education (Graduate) Award: Keisha Williams Spanish Education (Undergraduate) Award: Elica Ortega

Secondary Mathematics Education (Graduate) Award: Victoria Johnsn UTeach Mathematics Education (Undergraduate) Award: Leroy Ward UTeach Science Education (Undergraduate) Award: Melody Golden Secondary Science Education (Graduate) Award: Terrance Lewis

History Education (Undergraduate) Award: Matthew Wacter Social Science Education (Graduate) Award: Meredith Donovan Special Education (Undergraduate) Award: Shannon Eshman

Curriculum & Instruction in Accomplished Teaching (Graduate) Award: Christopher Wascak

Teacher Leadership (Graduate) Award: Karla Buckholz Outstanding Nursing B.S.N. Award: Jessenia Rodriguez

Outstanding Nursing M.S.N. Award: Jon Kearns

Outstanding Nursing R.N. - B.S.N. Award: Caroline Chambers

Outstanding Nursing F.N.P. Award: Vasilina Johnson

College of Letters and Sciences

Literature Award: Joseph Evangelista Professional Writing Award: Anayia Cook Creative Writing Award: Dillon Power

Outstanding Senior Teacher Education Award: Elica Ortega Outstanding Literature & Culture Award: Marianela Cruz Outstanding Political Science Major Award: Sarah Holden

Mario Mion Political Science Honors Scholarship Award: Belem Gonzalez-Castaneda

Master of Public Administration Award: Karl Ivey

Philosophy Award: Sheridan Harris

Cellular & Molecular Biology Award: Abigail Abernathy

Biology Education Award: Emily Smith

George Stanton Biology Award: Meenal Joshi Organismic Biology Award: Jim Taylor Lewis

Ecological & Evolutionary Biology Award: Emily King

Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Major Award: Rahul Clamor Excellence in Chemistry Research Award: Shyrisse Ramos

Geology Award: Alphonzo Dyser Engineering Award: Cody Ellis Astronomy Award: Skyler Vaughn Physics Award: Benjamin Crane

Environmental Science Award: Madelyn Eysel

Psychology Academic Achievement Award: Kathleen Rhinebolt Psychology Undergraduate Research Award: Erin Daniel